Wiltshire Council

Full Council

16 June 2020

Leader's Motion - Appointment of Committees and Review of Allocation of Seats on Committees to Political Groups

- a) Appointment of Committees and Review of Allocation of Seats on Committees to Political Groups
- b) Appointment of Councillors to Committees
- c) Appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen Committees
- d) Appointments to the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire Authority

The Leader will move the following:

The Council is asked:

- a) To note this report and the legal requirements.
- b) To re-appoint the following committees in accordance with their Terms of Reference:

Appeals Committee Area Planning Committees: Eastern, Northern, Southern and Western Audit Committee Children's Select Committee **Electoral Review Committee** Environment Select Committee Health Select Committee Health and Wellbeing Board Investment Sub Committee Licensing Committee Officer Appointments Committee **Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee** Pension Fund Committee Police and Crime Panel Staffing Policy Committee Standards Committee Strategic Planning Committee

- c) To re-appoint those Area Boards, constituted as area committees as set out in paragraphs 13 to 15 and Appendix 1 of the report presented and within the Constitution, to comprise the Unitary Councillors for that area.
- d) To re-appoint the Local Pension Board established under the Public Service Pensions Act 2013 and consequent amendments to the Local Government Pension Scheme

Regulations 2013 with the terms of reference as set out in the Constitution.

- e) To approve a scheme of committee places which sets out the number of seats available to members of the Council and to political groups as set out in the Schedule of Committee Places.
- f) To appoint councillors to serve on those committees in accordance with the agreed scheme of committee places, until the next occasion membership is reviewed under the provisions of the Local Government & Housing Act 1989 (as attached).
- g) To appoint substitute members (to a maximum of four per group) to the committees referred to above (as attached).
- h) To appoint those councillors representing electoral divisions to their respective area boards as set out in Appendix 1 of the report
- i) To re-appoint four non-voting co-opted members until May 2021 as follows:

Mr Richard Baxter Mr Philip Gill MBE Mr Michael Lockhart Miss Pam Turner

j) Re-appoint the following persons as Independent Persons to complete a four-year term (until 2021):

Mr Tony Drew Mrs Caroline Baynes Mr Stuart Middleton

k) To reappoint the following non-elected members to the Children's Select Committee:

Non-Elected Voting Members	Representing
Vacancy	Church of England
Dr Mike Thompson	Clifton Diocese Roman Catholic Church
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary- maintained)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary – academy)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Special Educational Needs)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Primary)
Non-Elected Non-Voting Members	Representing
Maisy Humphrey (Sub Declan Kiely)	School, Children and Young People representatives
Charlotte Corfield	Further Education Representative

Sarah Busby	Secondary Schools Head Teacher
Catriona Williamson	Representative Primary School Head Teacher
	Representative
John Hawkins	School Teacher Representative

I) To re-appoint the following co-opted members to the Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee:

Name	Representing	
Cllr Brian Ford	Swindon Borough Councillor (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)	
Cllr Steve Allsopp.	Swindon Borough Councillor (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)	
Chris Moore	Employer Representative	
Diane Hall	Employer Representative	
Stuart Dark	Scheme Member Observer- appointed by Unison	
Mike Pankiewicz	Scheme Member Observer- appointed by Unison	

To reappoint the Investment Sub Committee in accordance with its Terms of reference with the following co-opted members:

Name	Representing
Cllr Brian Ford	Swindon Borough (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
Cllr Gordon King	Wiltshire Council member of Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee.

m) To re-appoint the Local Pension Board under the Public Service Pensions Act 2013 until the expiry of the 4 year term:

Name	Representing
Mark Spilsbury	Independent Chairman
Rod Lauder	Scheme Member Representative
Barry Reed	Scheme Member Representative
Mike Pankiewicz	Scheme Member Representative
Paul Smith	Employer Member Representative
Cllr Richard Britton	Employer Member Representative
lan Jones	Employer Member Representative

n) To re-appoint the following co-opted members to the Police and Crime Panel:

Name	Representing
Cllr Alan Bishop	Swindon Borough Council (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
Cllr Vinay Manro	Swindon Borough Council (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
Cllr Junab Ali	Swindon Borough Council (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
Cllr Abdul Amin	Swindon Borough Council (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
Mamie Beasant	Independent co-optee
Anna Richardson	Independent co-optee

o) To appoint Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of the following meetings:

Committee	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
Area Planning Committee – Eastern	Mark Connolly	Paul Oatway
Area Planning Committee – Northern	Tony Trotman	Peter Hutton
Area Planning Committee – Southern	Fred Westmoreland	Richard Britton
Area Planning Committee – Western	Christopher Newbury	Jonathon Seed
Audit Committee	Richard Britton	Stewart Dobson
Health and Wellbeing Board (Chairman only)	Philip Whitehead	NA
Licensing Committee	Peter Hutton	Jose Green
Officer Appointments	Philip Whitehead	Richard Clewer
Pension Fund Committee	Tony Deane	Simon Jacobs
Staffing Policy Committee	Stuart Wheeler	Tony Jackson
Standards Committee	Paul Oatway	Howard Greenman
Strategic Planning Committee	Fleur de Rhé-Philipe	Christopher Newbury

- p) To note that the Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee, the Scrutiny Select Committees, the Police and Crime Panel, Electoral Review Committee and the Area Boards will be asked to elect their respective Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen at their first meeting following council.
- q) To note that the Appeals Committee does not meet as a formal committee. However, three members who have undergone appropriate training are drawn from its membership to form Appeal Panels to consider and determine various types of appeals. No appointment of chairman or vice-chairman to the committee is therefore

necessary. Each panel when convened will elect its own chairman.

r) That Council appoint the following 6 members to serve as Council representatives on the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Authority:

Conservatives (4)	Liberal Democrat (1)	Independent (1)
Peter Hutton	Bob Jones	Ernie Clark
Christopher Newbury		
Paul Oatway QPM		
Pip Ridout		